ITIL Process Map for ARIS

ITIL® translated into an easy to read, customizable ITIL reference model for the ARIS Process Platform™:

Diagrams and EPCs in four levels of detail describe the process activities and the information flows of the ITIL processes.

The ITIL Process Map for ARIS is an 'officially licensed ITIL product'.

On this page:

Introduction to the ITIL Process Map Watch our videos with Stefan Kempter introducing the ITIL Process Map:

Highlights: ITIL Process Map for ARIS

Design The ITIL reference model in ARIS notation illustrates the ITIL processes and provides a reference that can be easily understood and maintained.
  • Intuitive, clear-cut layout in four levels of detail
  • Navigable (linked shapes allow drill-downs to more detailed views or jumps to peer processes)
  • Fully customizable ARIS reference process models.
ARIS™ features used
  • Specifically designed for the ARIS Process Platform™ by Software AG, making consistent use of ARIS features like object instances, attributes and hierarchically structured models.
  • Integrated RACI matrix.
License model Simple license model based on sites - no recurring subscription fees.

Contents in detail: ITIL Process Map for ARIS

ITIL reference models for ARIS

Process diagrams in four levels of detail illustrate the interrelationships of the ITIL processes and allow drilling down into the process details:

ARIS ITIL Lifecycle
Level 0: The ITIL Service Lifecycle

The ITIL service lifecycle stages and their interrelationships on one single page. This is the main entry point into the ARIS ITIL reference model.


ARIS ITIL Core Disciplines
Level 1: ITIL service lifecycle stages

A set of 5 ARIS diagrams for each stage of the ITIL service lifecycle, illustrating the ITIL big picture.


ARIS ITIL Processes
Level 2: ITIL main processes

A set of 24 overview diagrams for the ITIL main processes (e.g. Change Management). These ARIS diagrams show on one single page what an ITIL process is about. From here, the user is able to open detailed EPC diagrams on the sub-process level using hyperlinks.


Level 3: ITIL process details

The ITIL Process Map includes 126 detailed process flows (Event-Driven Process Chains - EPCs) for all ITIL processes. The ARIS ITIL EPCs contain

ITIL RACI matrix

The ITIL RACI Matrix in ARIS illustrates the participation of the ITIL roles in the various ITIL processes:

Integrated RACI matrix

Our ITIL RACI matrix comes in the form of an ARIS "matrix model". This means the matrix is automatically updated when roles are added to or removed from the process diagrams.

To learn more, please check out our special page on the ITIL RACI matrix.

Additional reference diagrams in the ARIS ITIL Process Map

Process index diagrams provide direct access to all processes and sub-processes in the ARIS process model:

ARIS ITIL Processes
ITIL process index

For each ITIL stage, all processes and sub-processes are depicted in a hierarchical way on one single page. All process diagrams are directly accessible from this page via links.

ITIL checklists and document templates

Many Data Object shapes in the process diagrams are linked to "checklists" which provide more details on these objects - and can often be used as templates. All in all, there are more than 100 ITIL checklists and document templates in Microsoft Word™ format, explaining all important ITIL process outputs in detail.

ARIS ITIL Checklists

A checklist "Incident Record" is provided as part of the Incident Management process, to explain the structure of the data typically contained in an Incident Record. You can use this checklist as a template when you start creating Incident Records in your own organization.

Accompanying documentation to the ITIL Process Map for ARIS

Additional documents help you to get started with ITIL and the ITIL Process Map.

ITIL ARIS reference processes Intro
Introduction to ITIL and the ITIL Process Map

This document contains a brief introduction to ITIL and explains how the ITIL Process Map for ARIS was created from the ITIL books.


ITIL ARIS reference processes: Implementation
ITIL implementation guide

ITIL implementation projects are characterized by a typical course of action, independent of the size and type of the organization. This made it feasible to devise a time-tested project blueprint which can serve as a guideline for a wide range of ITIL initiatives.


ITIL ARIS reference model KPIs
ITIL process metrics (key performance indicators - KPIs)

Process owners use objective quality criteria to assess whether their processes are running "well". To support the selection of suitable KPIs, the ITIL Process Map for ARIS contains a choice of suitable metrics for the most important ITIL processes.


Quick references

Additional documents provide quick access to the following information:


ITIL process outputs and inputs
Process outputs and inputs

Tables in Excel format show the outputs and inputs for every process on the lowest level of detail. Users can create specific views on this information by applying filters and/or sorting.

License model and specifications: ITIL Process Map for ARIS

Coverage Complete Service Lifecycle (ITIL V3 2011 Edition)
  • Service Strategy
  • Service Design
  • Service Transition
  • Service Operation
  • Continual Service Improvement
Platform/ environment ARIS Process Platform™ version 10 (no ARIS™ license included)
Language versions English / German
License model Licenses to use the product are granted on a per-site basis, where a site is defined as a single company location or a cluster of adjacent company locations within one geographic region of a country. Each site is entitled to use the product without limitation of time, number of users and number of copies.
Product specification The product specification provides a detailed list of all components included in the ITIL Process Map for ARIS.

Resources and further reading

Related pages


Home      ITIL Process Map      ARIS ITIL reference model