About ITIL (IT Infrastructure Library)

ITIL® (IT Infrastructure Library) today is the generally accepted approach to organizing service providers. The ITIL recommendations enable organizations to deliver their services in a quality-driven and economical way.

On this page:

Optimizing IT processes with ITIL

In 2007, OGC published a completely revised version of ITIL, known as "ITIL Version 3 (ITIL V3)".

These publications were updated in 2011, taking into account feedback from the user and training community. The latest edition if ITIL is now referred to as ITIL 2011 - or simply ITIL.

ITIL is organized around a set of five new core publications which together form the ITIL service lifecycle:

The ITIL Service Lifecycle

The rationale for organizing the ITIL books in this way was to establish a Deming-like Plan-Do-Check-Act cycle focused on continual improvement - and to achieve better alignment between ITIL and ISO 20000.

Overall, the current ITIL version complements the processes known from ITIL V2 with a number of new processes and puts more emphasis on producing value for the business. The underlying principles of ITIL are largely unchanged.

There is a complete comparison between ITIL V3 and V2 in our ITIL Wiki. See also: ITIL V3 vs. ITIL 2011 - Changes and Clarifications.

For a first impression of the differences between ITIL V3 and ITIL 2011, take a look at our video "The New ITIL 2011 Edition" [2:29 min.].

ITIL - the idea

ITIL was developed at the end of the 1980's by the Central Computing and Telecommunications Agency (CCTA), a government agency in Great Britain. The reason for commissioning the CCTA was a lack of quality of the IT services procured by the British Government, so that a method had to be found to achieve better quality and simultaneously decrease their costs. The objective was to develop effective and efficient methods for the provision of IT services - in other words a catalogue of best practices for the IT organization, which today is known as ITIL.

The essence of the methods is to make IT services explicit and strictly focused on client needs. This is combined with clearly defined responsibilities for service provision within the IT organization, and effectively designed IT processes. As a result, the IT organization concentrates on the services required by the customer side, rather than being focused on technologies.

The recommendations thus compiled are very broadly valid. It was found that the requirements of the businesses and organizations examined by the CCTA were mostly similar, independent of their size or industry sector.

A series of books on ITIL has been issued since 1989 by the Cabinet Office, an administrative body of the government of Great Britain. As of the beginning of 2014, the ITIL™ trademark and intellectual property is owned by AXELOS, a joint venture between the Cabinet Office and Capita plc.

ITIL accepted as de-facto standard

In the past years, ITIL has become the de-facto standard for ITSM (IT Service Management). Increasingly, IT managers developed awareness for the service- and customer-driven approach championed by ITIL, and the ITIL terminology is widely understood and used.

The ITIL philosophy has found its way into a multitude of other models for IT service management, as for example:

IT Process Wiki: Facts and know-how on ITIL and ISO 20000

We are now able to offer you a wealth of ITIL know-how in our !

Our ITIL Wiki - the IT Process Wiki [1] - is intended to promote more widespread use of best practice by service management professionals.

In particular, this wiki by IT Process Maps is about ITIL (IT Infrastucture Library), ISO 20000 and IT Service Management (ITSM), and also about ITIL Process Management, as process management techniques are necessary for implementing and retaining Best Practice principles.

The ITIL Wiki offers detailed descriptions of the ITIL processes (V3 2011 Edition and V2) and sub-processes, complete with their inputs and outputs, corresponding ITIL roles, and metrics (ITIL KPIs).

A glossary provides definitions of the most important ITIL glossary terms. New: The most sought-after ITIL templates - free ITIL templates according to ITIL 2011!

Contents of the IT Process Wiki

How ITIL became the de-facto standard for IT service management.
Detailed descriptions of the ITIL processes according to ITIL versions V3 2011 Edition (ITIL 2011) and V2.
The changes and clarifications introduced with ITIL 2011 vs. ITIL V3 2007.
A navigable ITIL glossary contains definitions of the most important ITIL and ITSM glossary terms.
Descriptions of the ITIL roles and their responsibilities.
An extensive collection of ITIL templates and ITIL checklists to get started quickly.
A set of commonly used ITIL key performance indicators.
Comparison between ITIL V3 and ITIL V2 - The main differences.
Project guide: "ITIL implemention in 10 Steps" (strategies for introducing ITIL into the IT organization).
ISO 20000 certification for IT organizations.
Advice on how to use process management techniques for success.

[1] Created 2007| Languages: English, Spanish and German | Authors: &